1. Communication between nodes on same site

Communication between nodes on same site

Home Forums FABRIC General Questions and Discussion Communication between nodes on same site

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Ahmad Nazar
    Participant

Hello, I have setup an experiment to carry out a class room demonstration of a denial of service attack. The network topology is as follows and each VM is running Ubuntu 20 and each VM has a sharedNIC. The bridge is an L2bridge. I am trying to communicate between the two nodes but they are not connected to each other. I try pinging the IP address of one node from another and all the packets are dropped. How can I solve this issue? I am new to this and trying to transition to FABRIC from GENI where the rspec for my experiment is ready. Is there a way where I can convert my rspec into a FABRIC native object?

yoursunny
      Participant

Management IP cannot communicate with each other, to prevent abuse.

You should create FABNetv4 or FABNetv6 network service in each slice. They can all communicate with each other, regardless of whether the slides are on the same or different sites.

Ilya Baldin
        Participant

Hello,

As @yoursunny noted please make sure you aren’t actually using the management IP address to communicate between VM slivers as that is discouraged and most of the time not possible.

It is not clear to me if you are using a jupyter notebook or building a slice from the UI (we strongly encourage new users and educators to use notebooks). Please try the ‘Local Ethernet (Layer 2): Create a private local Ethernet network on a FABRIC site (manual)’ notebook (you can find it from start_here notebook under ‘Networking’ section). If it doesn’t work please report which site you are using.

Also please make sure

yoursunny
          Participant

Is there a way where I can convert my rspec into a FABRIC native object?