1. get_physical_os_interface()[‘ifname’] failed

get_physical_os_interface()[‘ifname’] failed

Home Forums FABRIC General Questions and Discussion get_physical_os_interface()[‘ifname’] failed

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Chengyi Qu
    Participant

I’m kind of new with the network adapter tuning. I want to try test the 100Gbps link between WAN and I found out a useful jupyter notebook in the testing_and_debugging folder: ‘test-wan-networks’. However, once I run the notebook I found that one function is deprecated: get_physical_os_interface(). Does this setting a necessory? Or we only need to set on os_interface?

Paul Ruth
      Keymaster

I think some of those debugging notebooks are old and maybe don’t work anymore.

You can use the 100G networks by just creating a WAN link that connects VMs using 100G NICs.   Any of the regular networking notebooks should work for this.  The only thing to think about is that, for now, dedicated quality of service guarantees are not available.  However, very little bandwidth is currently being used and you should not be limited by other users.

That said, we have only begun testing most of the links and have not confirmed the bandwidth we can achieve.  In theory, most of them should be able to get 100G but I suspect most of them will need some tuning. Please try this and let us know what you can achieve.

thanks,

Paul

• This reply was modified 1 year, 9 months ago by Paul Ruth.
        Chengyi Qu
        Participant

According to the tuning instruction, for now, if the site is STAR and SALT (between which I assume is a 100 Gpbs link),  and with Basic 100G NIC, I can achieve, with TCP:

[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate Retr
          [ 5] 0.00-60.00 sec 86.8 GBytes 12.4 Gbits/sec 806071 sender
          [ 5] 0.00-60.04 sec 86.8 GBytes 12.4 Gbits/sec receiver

Which I think it is not as ideal as I expect. And with UDP test, I can achieve:

[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate Jitter Lost/Total Datagrams