1. Replication of customized configurations

Replication of customized configurations

Home Forums FABRIC General Questions and Discussion Replication of customized configurations

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Fu Shen
    Participant

Hey, I am pretty new to Fabric (and GENI). After a little bit of exploration of Fabric, here I have a couple of questions (with us cases):

We would love to setup a LoRa server on Fabric to connect with some of our devices. What we have done now is requesting resources, and then installing necessary software on nodes. We would have to renew it after a while if we need to continue using it. Is there a way that we can “save” the customization/configuration or have a replication of the customized/configured  nodes? (In other words, do we have to go through the codes to request resources and install tools everytime we need it?)

Besides, I would also like to ask if there is any use cases / experiments such that ppl running database and/or Redis on Fabric?

Paul Ruth
      Keymaster

Fu Shen,

There isn’t really a way to save the state of a slice. We recommend scripting the configuration of your experiments so that you can easily bring the experiment up/down.  Some configuration can take a long to to build.  In these cases, you might want to create containers to package your software so that the can easily be deployed on the VMs.

I am working on some examples using DockerHub to deploy software.  One example that is not quite done yet but could be useful is a slice that deploys a P4 software switch using DockerHub.

An initial version of the notebook can be found here: https://github.com/fabric-testbed/jupyter-examples/blob/pruth-utils/fabric_examples/beta_functionality/fabric_p4_bmv2/fabric_p4_simple_router.ipynb